TRID: Leveraging Search Results with Reference Management Tools

TRB will conduct a webinar on October 8, 2013 from 2:00 p.m.- 3:30 p.m. ET that will demonstrate the use of desktop and online reference management tools. Participants must register in advance of the webinar, there are no professional credits associated with this webinar, and there is no fee to register.  Register at http://www.trb.org/Research/Blurbs/169269.aspx

The licensed and free management tools that will be covered are EndNote, EndNote Web, RefWorks, and Zotero.

TRID, released in 2011, is the world’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information. TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide, with more than 90,000 links to free or fee-based full text.

The first 60 minutes of the webinar will feature information from the presenter and the final 30 minutes is reserved for audience questions.

Webinar Presenters:

• Bill McLeod, Transportation Research Board
• Ken Winters, Virginia Department of Transportation

Moderated by: Lisa Berardi Marflak, Transportation Research Board

Learning Objectives:

• To learn how to export references from TRID to an EndNote library or database; an EndNote Web account; a RefWorks database; and to a Zotero Library
• To understand the labor and time-saving benefits of using reference management tools to write papers, chapters, and technical documentation

To ensure that you receive notices about upcoming webinars, please subscribe to the TRB Transportation Research E-Newsletter.

Registration information:  
There is no fee to register for this webinar. After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.  See link above to register.

Registration questions? Contact Reggie Gillum at RGillum@nas.edu.

Knovel University Challenge 2013

 

 

 

 

NOTE:  The UVa Library has a subscription to many of Knovel’s resources.  See http://www.knovel.com/

Are you smarter than an engineering professor?

The Questions – Test your engineering know-how. This year, Knovel asked engineering professors to help us develop questions that would test students’ knowledge while providing real-life examples of problems sets assigned to STEM students.

The Prizes – You could win Roku 3 Media Players, Pebble Smartwatches, Samsung Chromebooks and a $500 Pizza Party for the entire school!

What is it: Every year, the Knovel University Challenge allows students to compete for prizes while learning how to use the research tools they’ll need to complete assignments and ultimately succeed in the workplace. Student answer a series of questions on STEM-related topics like finding “the density of ASTM grade 12 titanium alloy”. This year the Challenge will begin on September 9, 2013 and end on December 1, 2013.

Go here to start playing:  http://www.knoveluniversitychallenge.com/

Science.gov Announces Spanish Version

Washington D.C – Science agencies across the U.S. federal government announced today the launch of the Spanish version of Science.gov, http://ciencia.science.gov.  Ciencia.Science.gov provides the same breadth and depth in science search as does Science.gov, covering over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results from 17 organizations within 13 federal science agencies. Free access is provided to over 55 scientific databases and more than 2,100 selected scientific web sites. Integrating Microsoft’s Translator, Spanish-language queries to Ciencia.Science.gov initiate searches of U.S. databases and web sites with results appearing in Spanish. This represents an innovative use of existing commercial technology to broaden public access to federal science information.

In addition to offering expanded access to the Spanish-speaking public, Science.gov now includes new multimedia content and additional features to help users find the science information they need. For the first time, R&D video is available from the Department of Energy (DOE), MedlinePLUS (NIH), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, (NASA) and the National Science Foundation (NSF). Images from the Library of Congress have been added to the image search that is now integrated under a new multimedia tab on the results page. Search enhancements include visual representations of topical information in an easy-to-use touch and dial format.

Cooperative Patent Classification System

The USPTO and EPO have released the new Cooperative Patent Classification system ahead of the January 1, 2013 implementation date.  (The USPTO will phase in the CPC over the next couple of years.)  Details are available at the CPC website.  Documentation includes the entire CPC scheme, an initial set of definitions and CPC concordances.

There’s also the inaugural issue of the CPC News newsletter.

The EPO has started to integrate some of the USPTO cross-reference art collections and digest into Espacenet.

(The above reposted from the ASEE Engineering Libraries listserv, 10/3/2012)

7 Survival Skills for Engineering Majors

Check out this useful advice from the Knovel blog:  http://knovelblogs.com/2012/08/22/7-survival-skills-for-engineering-majors/

 
And ask a librarian about the Knovel Library of online reference books, data and information!

The Knovel University Challenge

The Knovel University Challenge Starts 9/10/2012!

What to expect:
More questions, more prizes, and many more opportunities for engineering and science students to hone critical information gathering and analytical skills. Each week, we’ll highlight a specific function in Knovel that engineers in the workplace say helps them get the job done!

What’s new this year?
We’re introducing new questions every week, so there are even more opportunities for students to play and win great prizes like the new Apple iPad, Beats Audio earphones (valued at $150 each) and more! We’ll also randomly select a grand prize winner and the contest-within-the-contest prize goes to the schools with the highest number of participating students.

How to Play:
Students can simply visit our webpage: http://knoveluniversitychallenge.com/ and use the search box to search Knovel for the answers.

We had a great 2011 season and look forward to your help making this an even bigger Back-to- School event.

Microsoft Academic Search

Microsoft Academic Search (MAS) is a free academic search engine developed by Microsoft Research, which also serves as a test-bed for many research ideas in Data Mining, Named Entity Extraction and Disambiguation, Data Visualization, etc. As a research prototype, the coverage of MAS is still very limited in certain domains. We appreciate your feedback and contribution.

Microsoft Academic Search provides many innovative ways to explore academic publications, authors, conferences, journals, organizations and keywords, connecting millions of scholars, students, librarians, and other users.

Visit Microsoft Academic Search here.

MathSciNet Tutorials

The American Mathematical Society is pleased to announce that MathSciNet Tutorials are now available!  Learn how to take full advantage of the rich structure of the MathSciNet database.  Tutorials include – Publications, Authors, Journals, and Citations searches – as well as tutorials on the Free Tools and Preferences options.  Every user will find new features and search options that will enhance their use of the database.

Go to http://www.mathscinet.info/index.html to start using the MSN Tutorials!

Lori Sprague
Manager, Sales Administration
American Mathematical Society
Providence, RI  02904
las@ams.org
www.ams.org

Knovel Database and Earthquake Engineering

In the wake of yesterday’s 5.8 magnitude earthquake here in central Virginia, you might find these titles from the Knovel database of interest.  What is Knovel?  Knovel is a web-based application integrating technical information with analytical and search tools to drive innovation and deliver answers in many engineering disciplines.  It provides the full text to a variety of texts and reference books useful to all engineers.  Give Knovel a try!

Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering Handbook by R. W. Day

Earthquake Engineering – Application to Design by Charles K. Erdey

Hint:  When searching Knovel, you may want to limit your search to just items that UVa subscribes to.  Check the “My Subscription” link near the upper right corner of the Knovel screen.  Readers at schools other than UVa may have different subscribed content – or no access, if your school doesn’t subscribe to Knovel.  Check with your local librarian, if you have questions.

 

All-New Virgo Library Catalog

Now You Can Search for Books AND Journal Articles At the Same Time!

The University Library catalog, Virgo, has been greatly enhanced to include journal articles from many publishers. It features a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Virginia Library collections. Virgo is the place to start your research in scholarly journal and newspaper articles, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results page, one click will display the full text of an article or tell you whether or not a book is on the shelf.

Virgo’s new integrated article search is part of a suite of online services the Library offers to researchers through the new Research Portal which provides access to the specialist databases – the recommended approach for those who are working on in-depth literature reviews.

For more information about the new Virgo interface or the Research Portal stop by any UVa Library or contact your subject librarian.