Posts Tagged 'Databases'



Introduction to MS Access

Sherry Lake
Research Computing Support Specialist
Thursday, March 25, 2010, from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
In the Brown Science and Engineering Library Electronic Classroom

This session will provide an overview to Microsoft Access for development of relational databases.

You can register for this course by submitting a help ticket at http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/brown/rescomp/help/index.html

New Personalization Features in the Knovel Database

In November 2009, we announced My Knovel, a personal space where users can manage and organize saved content of all types.

You’ve likely seen the announcements in your email, in K-News, on the Knovel website and even in a few news articles.

We are happy to announce that My Knovel is now ready for our academic users.  Users will be able to take advantage of these features by creating individual user profiles.  Profiles are optional, but registering is the only way users can take advantage of the new personalized features offered.

New Features for Students & Faculty:

  • My Bookshelf – Users can save frequently used titles and organize them into folders they create
  • My Saved Searches – Users can save search queries and re-execute them with one click
  • My Saved Content – Users can save and organize search results and other content into the folders they create

Our new My Knovel video is an excellent resource to help you announce the new personalization features available on Knovel.

Visit the Knovel database to set up your My Knovel account or ask for more information and assistance at any UVa Library!

Introduction to Relational Databases

Sherry Lake
Research Computing Support Specialist
Thursday, March 18, 2010, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
In the Brown Science and Engineering Library Electronic Classroom

This session will provide an overview to relational databases.

You can register for this course by submitting a help ticket at http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/brown/rescomp/help/index.html

This event is part of the Spring 2010 Research Computing Lab Short Course Series.

LexisNexis Academic Database

LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.   One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis Academic is available from the Brown Science and Engineering Library’s Databases page.  It is a standard element in many research programs.

Product Overview

Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources.  The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.  Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria — great when researching companies and preparing for job interviews!  This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard’s Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.

Access LexisNexis now.  Access limited to UVa faculty and students only from this address.

New IEEE Xplore Database Interface

As you may have seen, the IEEE Xplore digital library has been upgraded.

The Charles L. Brown Science and Engineering Library has a full-text subscription that gives you access to IEEE documents from www.ieee.org/ieeexplore.

The new IEEE Xplore is now easier to use and has more value-added features.  You will be able to find articles faster with a new search engine and enhanced functionality.  Learn about new features and tips on how to use the new IEEE Xplore by visiting www.ieee.org/newieeexplore where you will be able to:

  • Sign up for free training: Live, online training available as well as pre-recorded tutorials
  • Watch the demo video: See the three-minute video demonstration of the new features
  • View the new brochure: “Experience the New IEEE Xplore Digital Library.”  A printable PDF of all the new features
  • Search tip sheets: A one page reference with tips and tricks to make searching more effective

What are the new features?

  • New interface design — intuitive, easy-to-navigate
  • New search engine — faster and more robust search results
  • Faceted search — post-search refinements allow you to narrow or expand your initial search
  • Personalization — set your preferences, save searchers, create alerts…and more

Visit the new IEEE Xplore at www.ieee.org/ieeexplore

If you have any questions, please contact Fred O’Bryant, Applied Sciences Librarian, at jfo@virginia.edu or stop by any UVa library.

Welcome to Data.gov

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Although the initial launch of Data.gov provides a limited portion of the rich variety of Federal datasets presently available, we invite you to actively participate in shaping the future of Data.gov by suggesting additional datasets and site enhancements to provide seamless access and use of your Federal data.  Data.gov includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the “raw” data catalog, the tool catalog and the geodata catalog.

Note that not all included datasets relate to science and engineering but many do.

Get Personal with My Knovel

Last November, Knovel — the online resource that helps you innovate and solve complex problems faster by providing instant access to trusted technical information in dozens of engineering books and handbooks — launched My Knovel, a personal space where users can manage and save content of all types.  New features include:

My Bookshelf – Save frequently used titles and organize them into folders you create

My Saved Content – Save and organize content into the folders you create

My Saved Searches – Save search queries and re-execute them with one click

The personalization features available with My Knovel continue to expand.   Clip to Knovel gives you the ability to save information from all over the Web to your My Knovel account.   Clip to Knovel is currently available for preview in Knovel Lab.   Check it out and let us know what you think.   Enter Knovel Lab

If you are not currently signed up for My Knovel, please contact support@knovel.com.  User registration is quick, easy and free.

————————————————————————

Knovel is brought to you by the University of Virginia Libraries.  Use of the Knovel Library is restricted to University of Virginia faculty, staff and students.


RSS Feed

October 2019
S M T W T F S
« Sep    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031