I Love My Robot!

Some Roomba Owners Become Emotionally Attached, Study Finds.

The AP (3/3) reports, “A new study shows how deeply some Roomba owners become attached to the robotic vacuum and suggests there’s a measure of public readiness to accept robots in the house – even flawed ones.” Beki Grinter, an associate professor at Georgia Tech’s College of Computing and one of the researchers involved, said, “They’re more willing to work with a robot that does have issues because they really, really like it.” Grinter added, “It sort of begins to address more concerns: If we can design things that are somewhat emotionally engaging, it doesn’t have to be as reliable.” The article details the phases of the research and lists some of the specific findings.

Reposted from the March 3, 2010 ASEE First Bell.

2 Responses to “I Love My Robot!”


  1. 1 breandmike September 2, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    I am a 8th grade teacher in NC and came across your site while researching some information about robotics for my tech class this year. I just wanted to thank you first of all for the great information and articles about robotics, and second let you know about a site we are putting together for teachers that might have some useful information for your site.

    We would love it if you could write a few articles for us, or link to some of the current articles to help us spread trusted resources to other teachers. I have included a link to the site below in hopes you might want to write some articles for us or link to it.

    Thanks and keep the great resources coming 🙂

    Bre Matthews

    http://www.thefreeresource.com/robots-timeline-of-key-events-in-robotics-and-resources

    • 2 Fred September 6, 2010 at 4:10 PM

      Dear Bre– Thanks for your kind comments. I edit the Nuts and Bolts blog but do not write articles, so I therefore must decline your offer to write for your site. As for linking to it, your site appears more suitable for K-12 teachers and that area of study here at UVa is handled by another of my colleagues. I will forward your information to her for consideration. Thanks–

      Fred


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Feed

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

