Posts Tagged 'Databases'

Microsoft Academic Search

Microsoft Academic Search (MAS) is a free academic search engine developed by Microsoft Research, which also serves as a test-bed for many research ideas in Data Mining, Named Entity Extraction and Disambiguation, Data Visualization, etc. As a research prototype, the coverage of MAS is still very limited in certain domains. We appreciate your feedback and contribution.

Microsoft Academic Search provides many innovative ways to explore academic publications, authors, conferences, journals, organizations and keywords, connecting millions of scholars, students, librarians, and other users.

Visit Microsoft Academic Search here.

All-New Virgo Library Catalog

Now You Can Search for Books AND Journal Articles At the Same Time!

The University Library catalog, Virgo, has been greatly enhanced to include journal articles from many publishers. It features a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Virginia Library collections. Virgo is the place to start your research in scholarly journal and newspaper articles, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results page, one click will display the full text of an article or tell you whether or not a book is on the shelf.

Virgo’s new integrated article search is part of a suite of online services the Library offers to researchers through the new Research Portal which provides access to the specialist databases – the recommended approach for those who are working on in-depth literature reviews.

For more information about the new Virgo interface or the Research Portal stop by any UVa Library or contact your subject librarian.

 

Latest Version of MathSciNet

Newest Release of MathSciNet

The American Mathematical Society is pleased to announce the latest version of MathScinet. The new release includes the following enhancements and features:

· Improved display of mathematics using MathJax, an open source JavaScript display engine for mathematics that works in all modern browsers (http://www.mathjax.org/)

· Direct links to books, book chapters, and series using DOIs registered by publishers

· Bibliographic entries and direct links for Ph.D. theses in mathematics, applied mathematics, and statistics from the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database

For more information please see:

http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/help/about.html.

Green Energy Portal Launched

Green Energy Portal Launched for Quick Public Access to Renewable Energy Research

Oak Ridge, TN - Green energy-related research and development (R&D) results are now more easily accessible through a new online portal, DOE Green Energy.  The free public portal was launched on the 40th Anniversary of Earth Day by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) within the Office of Science.  The site is designed to ease access to green energy R&D information for use by researchers, scientists, educators, students and the general public.  Researchers can use the DOE Green Energy portal to speed scientific discovery and innovation; business and industry can use the R&D to stimulate economic growth related to renewable energy.  Educators, students, and the public can discover applications of renewable energy science and energy efficiency best practices.  The portal provides technical documents from thousands of R&D projects conducted at DOE National Laboratories and by DOE-funded awards at universities.

DOE Green Energy contains both current and historical research, including bibliographic citations, technical reports and patent information on different types of renewable energy resources and energy conservation.  Subject areas include but are not limited to solar, wind, bioenergy, hydroelectric, geothermal, tidal and wave power, and energy storage.

An easy-to-use search box allows users to selectively download, at no cost, DOE bibliographic citations and associated detailed full-text research reports and patents focusing on renewable energy and energy efficiency science and technology.  The website also includes a news feed provided by the DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy program.

******************

Tim Byrne
DOE/Office of Scientific and Technical Information
P.O. Box 62
Oak Ridge,TN 37831
Phone: 865-241-2358
E-mail:  byrnet@osti.gov

Using Wolfram|Alpha in the Classroom

Wolfram|Alpha is a free online computational knowledge engine that generates answers to questions in real time by doing computations on its own vast internal knowledge base.   Its long-term goal is to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone.  This can be valuable to educators (and students) in many ways. 

You can learn more about Wolfram|Alpha for Educators (and others) at http://www.wolframalpha.com/educators/

Doing More with MS Access

Sherry Lake
Research Computing Support Specialist
Tuesday, March 30, 2010, from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

In the Brown Science and Engineering Library Electronic Classroom

This session will assume a basic understanding of Microsoft Access for development of relational databases, and will take that a step further to focus on higher-level relational databases and specific applications for scientific research.

You can register for this course by submitting a help ticket at http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/brown/rescomp/help/index.html

Introduction to MS Access

Sherry Lake
Research Computing Support Specialist
Thursday, March 25, 2010, from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
In the Brown Science and Engineering Library Electronic Classroom

This session will provide an overview to Microsoft Access for development of relational databases.

You can register for this course by submitting a help ticket at http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/brown/rescomp/help/index.html

New Personalization Features in the Knovel Database

In November 2009, we announced My Knovel, a personal space where users can manage and organize saved content of all types.

You’ve likely seen the announcements in your email, in K-News, on the Knovel website and even in a few news articles.

We are happy to announce that My Knovel is now ready for our academic users.  Users will be able to take advantage of these features by creating individual user profiles.  Profiles are optional, but registering is the only way users can take advantage of the new personalized features offered.

New Features for Students & Faculty:

  • My Bookshelf – Users can save frequently used titles and organize them into folders they create
  • My Saved Searches – Users can save search queries and re-execute them with one click
  • My Saved Content – Users can save and organize search results and other content into the folders they create

Our new My Knovel video is an excellent resource to help you announce the new personalization features available on Knovel.

Visit the Knovel database to set up your My Knovel account or ask for more information and assistance at any UVa Library!

Introduction to Relational Databases

Sherry Lake
Research Computing Support Specialist
Thursday, March 18, 2010, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
In the Brown Science and Engineering Library Electronic Classroom

This session will provide an overview to relational databases.

You can register for this course by submitting a help ticket at http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/brown/rescomp/help/index.html

This event is part of the Spring 2010 Research Computing Lab Short Course Series.

LexisNexis Academic Database

LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.   One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis Academic is available from the Brown Science and Engineering Library’s Databases page.  It is a standard element in many research programs.

Product Overview

Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources.  The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.  Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria — great when researching companies and preparing for job interviews!  This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard’s Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.

Access LexisNexis now.  Access limited to UVa faculty and students only from this address.

Next Page »



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.